Greetings ELLA Members & Adherents,

Please join us for the 2019 AGM, which will be held:
12:00 to 1:00pm on Friday, September 27
in Boardroom B2 at the Edmonton Law Courts, North, just outside of the cafeteria.

Lunch will be on the Association, so please do plan to come! And there will be a door prize…RSVP by September 25 to ellaexec@gmail.com

– Welcome and introductions
– Recap of activities from previous year
– Report from HeadStart
– Discussion of changes to Bylaws (Amended Bylaws) and more generally, the future of ELLA
– Election/Acclamation of new Board

Bylaw Amendments
The ad-hoc Bylaw Review Committee (Lucinda Johnston, Samantha Allen, Shaunna Mireau and Anke Eastwood) have endeavoured to make the bylaws more inclusive, both by updating some of the language and by opening the membership to more people with interest in Law Libraries. We’ve also shuffled the positions and duties of the officers around a bit in the hopes of having some overlap in the directors. This could provide some more continuity and should help make the transitions between executives a bit easier. As well, these changes could lighten the load for any one officer. Please take a look at the attached amendments and if you have any question or concerns, email us at ellaexec@gmail.com

Election of ELLA Board Members
ELLA has been a tiny, but mighty Association for over 40 years!  The same reasons that brought law librarians together all those years ago are still valid today, namely the desire to learn with and from each other and to support one another within the profession, not to mention to have some fun!

The outgoing ELLA Executive appreciates the support we have received over the past two years and greatly enjoyed serving the members of our Association! We hope that someone will come forward to pick up the baton and carry ELLA through the next few years. Note that Anke is willing to stay on for the next year to help in the transition as Past Chair, but only if all of the other positions are filled.

The following positions (as per amended bylaws) are available:
Past Chair – Anke Eastwood

Should you choose to step forward, be assured of transitional support from the outgoing exec, and ongoing support from the Past Chair. Please do consider this opportunity to serve the profession and keep the ELLA ball rolling! Alternately, encourage others to volunteer for positions! If you have any questions about positions or would like to put your name forward, please reply to this email, and we’ll get back to you and/or put your name on the slate.

Your outgoing ELLA Exec
Julie Rainey, Co-chair, 2017-2019
Anke Eastwood, Co-Chair, 2017-2019
Samantha Allan, Secretary/Treasurer 2017-2019
Susan Frame, Member-at-Large, 2017-2019
Lucinda Johnston, Webmaster, 2017-2019

This entry was posted in Events, General ELLA Announcements, Home Page. Bookmark the permalink.